God's Love

Photo by ERIKA CROWL http://www.dwellintheland.com/

LOVE

So I want to talk about LOVE again in this post. It is one of the most important parts of the Christian walk. How many of us have lost it on the phone with a sales person trying to push something on you?  Or gossiped about a friend?  Or criticized the pastor… I could go on.

God’s kind of LOVE does not come from us. It comes from God in us. We have to choose God’s kind of LOVE.

You need to receive God’s love before we can give God’s love away. Steven Curtis Chapman sings

This is what I’m sure of, I can only show love,
When I really know how loved I am
When it overtakes me, then it animates me
Flowing from my heart into my hands

How do we receive His LOVE?

First I want to say this, you do not have to perform for God to LOVE you! He loved you before you were born.   Here are just a few scriptures that talk about His Love for us.  Read them aloud and meditate on them.

In Zephaniah 3:17 it says,  The Lord your God is in the midst of you, a Mighty One, a Savior [Who saves]! He will rejoice over you with joy; He will rest [in silent satisfaction] and in His love He will be silent and make no mention [of past sins, or even recall them]; He will exult over you with singing.

and in Jeremiah 1:5 (MSG) it says “Before I shaped you in the womb, I knew all about you.Before you saw the light of day, I had holy plans for you:A prophet to the nations— that’s what I had in mind for you.”

Mandies version: “Before I shaped you in the womb, I knew all about you. Before you saw the light of day, I had holy plans for you: A ______________ — that’s what I had in mind for you.” The blank is for you to fill in. God has a plan for everyone, will you choose His plan or yours, or satans?

1John 4: 9 God showed how much he loved us by sending his one and only Son into the world so that we might have eternal life through him. 10 This is real love—not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as a sacrifice to take away our sins.

He knew you before you were shaped in the womb, He loved you so much that he sent His son, Jesus to die on the cross for your sins and to free you from the curse of the law (Deut 28).  He rejoices over you!  His LOVE will make no mention of your sin and He will exult over you with singing.  Wow! He loves us more than we can imagine.

Receiving God’s love is a choice.

In the end you have to receive God’s love by choice.

  • Choice 1: Being indwelt by God’s LOVE. “If you want to be indwelt by God’s love, you need to personally agree with God that Jesus is indeed your Savior (read 4:15).  “Confess” means literally to say the same thing as—to agree from the heart.  To confess that Jesus is the Son of God is to tell God in your own words that you agree with him when he says that you need a Savior and that Jesus is that Savior…What matters is that you personally tell God that you agree with him that you need a Savior and that Jesus is your Savior.” – Gary DeLashmutt**
  • Choice 2: You trust in God by looking to God as your source of everything instead of the world.  1 John 4:16 We know how much God loves us, and we have put our trust in his love. 
  • Choice 3: Renewing your mind to the word of God.

I am sure there are other but for today I will leave it there.

**http://www.xenos.org/teachings/?teaching=1029#sthash.SARBkF6P.dpuf

About Mandie

I am a Girl who loves working with colour, texture and light. And one of my favorite quotes is "If you think you're too small to make a difference you obviously have never been in bed with a mosquito" Michelle Walker

Leave a Reply

