Flower macro

Flower macro (Photo credit: @Doug88888)

I have been thinking about how my words can effect other people. I know words can effect my life, so why would they not effect someone else?  My mom used to say “If you don’t have something good to say… don’t say it at all.” The Bible says we have a choice.

Deut. 30: 19 I call Heaven and earth to record today against you. I have set before you life and death, blessing and cursing. Therefore, choose life…

Have you ever noticed when someone says something nice or kind about you that you feel good and if they tear you down you walk away feeling bad. That shows how easily words can effect you and others.  As Christians we are given a choice between life or death, blessing or curses but God tells us what choice He would like us to make and that is for “LIFE”.  Encouraging words give life to a person.

I might also add that talking badly of yourself is not something He wants for us either.  I used to say “I’m such a dummy”  and I would talk negatively about myself.  But one day God pointed out to me the I am wonderfully made.  So now I say positive things like, “I can do all thing through Christ who strengths me” and  “I am wonderfully made by Him.”

In Ephesians it talks about what should be coming out of our mouths.  We should examine our words.  Ask yourself some questions:  Are my words edifying to those around me?  Do they impart Grace to the hearer?  Am I grieving the Holy Spirit of God because I spoke badly to a person that does not know Jesus?  Are my words about people uplifting or cutting? Are my words gossip?

Ephesians 4:29-32 (NKJV) Let no corrupt word proceed out of your mouth, but what is good for necessary edification, that it may impart grace to the hearers.30 And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, by whom you were sealed for the day of redemption.

I like how the Message version writes this verse:

Ephesians 4:29-32  (MSG) 29 Watch the way you talk. Let nothing foul or dirty come out of your mouth. Say only what helps, each word a gift. 30 Don’t grieve God. Don’t break his heart. His Holy Spirit, moving and breathing in you, is the most intimate part of your life, making you fit for himself. Don’t take such a gift for granted. 31-32 Make a clean break with all cutting, backbiting, profane talk. Be gentle with one another, sensitive. Forgive one another as quickly and thoroughly as God in Christ forgave you.

I challenge you (and myself) to ask this question of ourselves before speaking:  Is what I want to say edifying to the hearer or not?  When I started asking myself this I found I had a lot less to say.  If you don’t talk so much, thats ok.  And if you do say something unedifying apologize to the person and ask forgiveness from God and move on.  Because God does not hold anything against you if you repent of the sin.  He wipes the slate clean.

Below are the lyrics and video for a great song called “WORDS” by Hawk Nelson which I heard on the radio. I got the lyrics from the website below.  Please forgive me if they are not perfect.

“Words” by HAWK NELSON

They’ve made me feel like a prisoner
They’ve made me feel set free
They’ve made me feel like a criminal
Made me feel like a king

They’ve lifted my heart
To places I’d never been
And they’ve dragged me down
Back to where I began

Words can build you up
Words can break you down
Start a fire in your heart or
Put it out

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

You can heal the heartache
Speak over the fear
(Speak over the fear) God,
Your voice is the only thing
We need to hear
(We need to hear)

Words can build us up
Words can break us down
Start a fire in our hearts or
Put it out

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You
(Back to You)

Let the words I say
(Let the words I say)
Be the sound of Your grace
(Sound like Your grace)
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

I wanna speak Your love
Not just another noise
Oh, I wanna be
Your light I wanna be
Your voice

Let my words be life
Let my words be truth
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You
(Back to You)

Let the words I say
(Let the words I say)
Be the sound of Your grace
(Sound like Your grace)
I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You (Back to You)

Words can build us up
Words can break us down
Start a fire in our hearts
Or put it out

I don’t wanna say a word
Unless it points the world back to You

http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/hawknelson/words.html

About Mandie

I am a Girl who loves working with colour, texture and light. And one of my favorite quotes is "If you think you're too small to make a difference you obviously have never been in bed with a mosquito" Michelle Walker

Leave a Reply

