January 1, I’ve got a lot of things on my mind
I’m looking at my body through a new spy satellite
Try to lift a finger, but I don’t think I can make the call
So tell me if I move, ’cause I don’t feel anything at all

From Dead Man (Carry Me) by Jars of Clay

Have you ever had a day when you were exhausted or overwhelmed and felt like the world around you was somehow distant or that you were disconnected?  Almost like you were looking at the world from the outside?

I think this is quite common, this feeling of being disconnected from our world.

This is really what we should be as Christians, though–disconnected from the world and connected to Christ.  We have given up our lives and now live through Christ.  He is the vine, we are the branches…

“I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing. John 15:5 NIV

We are dead to this life, but alive in Christ.

But what happens if we get too attached to this world that we are supposed to be dead to?  Truly dead to the world but wanting to keep living as if we are of this world?  Perhaps this is how we begin to feel disjointed, disconnected…

Think of it this way–my computer requires some sort of energy input to work.  If its’ intrinsic battery is dead, I will need to plug it in to another source of energy.  If I keep trying to run it off of the dead battery it won’t work.  I won’t be able to use it for any purpose.  I will be able to achieve nothing…

Until I plug it into a source of power it will not work and therefore I will not be able to use it for any good purpose.  Just like my life.  Unless I am hooked into Christ, I will not be able to be used for good purpose.  If, as Christians,  we are trying to get our power from the world we will feel disconnected, disoriented…

Let’s not be disconnected!  Let’s not spin our wheels in this world!  Let’s return to being in this world but not of it!

Hook back into Christ, the one who gives us power and direction in this world!

The Son is the radiance of God’s glory and the exact representation of his being, sustaining all things by his powerful word. Hebrews 1:3a NIV

4 For he  [Christ] was crucified in weakness, but lives by the power of God. For we also are weak in him [Christ], but in dealing with you we will live with him by the power of God. 2 Corinthians 13:4 ESV

How do you do this?  How do you hook back into your Source?  This blog was specifically designed to provide you with the tools to stay close in your walk with God, wherever you are coming from.  So take a look at the Daily Routine menu and check out the Mirror Exercises, Devotions and Meeting Together. Also check out the post called Prayer.  These are some great things that you can do to stay “plugged in” to Christ.

Dead But Still Breathing from Stand4more on Vimeo.

Seeing that a Pilot steers the ship in which we sail, who will never allow us  to perish even in the midst of shipwrecks, there is no reason why our minds  should be overwhelmed with fear and overcome with weariness.
John Calvin

About Mary

You may call me unusual. Strange. "Interesting." Crazy. But I like to think of myself as having all of the eccentricities of genius without the burden of the genius!

Leave a Reply

