I remember a time in my life, when fear ran my life. Now I look at that girl and wish someone had told her what I know now. Like that the Word of God can overcome everything that comes her way. How to use the word of God against the devil and make he flee like it talks about in Deut 28:7 and James 4:7.

Bible Study 2James 4:7 Therefore submit yourselves to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.  MKJV

James 4:7 So be subject to God. Resist the devil [stand firm against him], and he will flee from you. AMP

Deut 28:7 The Lord shall cause your enemies who rise up against you to be defeated before your face; they shall come out against you one way and flee before you seven ways.

How do we resist the devil?

11 They won the victory over him by the blood of the Lamb and by the truth which they proclaimed;… ” Revelation 12:11 (GNT)

The Word of God is Truth!

When Jesus was in the desert for forty days and nights Satan came to test and tempt Him. The Bible gives us three accounts of Satan tempting Jesus.

Matthew 4:1-11 NIV Then Jesus was led by the Spirit into the wilderness to be tempted[a] by the devil. 2 After fasting forty days and forty nights, he was hungry. 3 The tempter (Satan) came to him and said, “If you are the Son of God, tell these stones to become bread.” 4 Jesus answered,It is written: ‘Man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.’[b]

Jesus used the written Word of God which is truth and which I wrote about in ” Victory in the Truth of Gods Word!” post. He also had complete confidence (faith) in God’s word and he believed that God would do what He said He would do. So we must have the Word of God planted so deeply in us that nothing else but confidence comes out of our hearts when we start resisting the devil.

And He said to her, Daughter, your faith (your confidence and trust in Me) has made you well! Go (enter) into peace (untroubled, undisturbed well-being). Luke 8:48

And He said to him, Get up and go on your way. Your faith (your trust and confidence that spring from your belief in God) has restored you to health. Luke 17:19

We also can use the name of Jesus. It says  “9 [a]Wherefore God hath also highly exalted him, and given him a [b]name above every name. 10 That at the Name of Jesus should [c]every knee bow, both of things in heaven, and things in earth, and things under the earth. 11 And that [d]every tongue should confess that Jesus Christ is the Lord, unto the glory of God the Father.” Philippians 2:9-11 GNV

So, Jesus’ name is above every name…hmmm… eyes, legs, headaches, depression, oppression, confusion, chaos ,  cancer, demons, Satan, torment……. example. Jesus then asked him, What is your name? And he answered, ‘Legion’ for many demons had entered him. Luke 8:30 (NKJV) There are many examples of other people using Jesus’ name in the new testament:

10 then know this, you and all the people of Israel: It is by the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, whom you crucified but whom God raised from the dead, that this man stands before you healed. Acts 4:10 (NIV)

6 Then Peter said, “Silver and gold I do not have, but what I do have I give you: In the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, rise up and walk.” Acts 3:6 (NKJV)

And she did this for many days. Then Paul, being sorely annoyed and worn out, turned and said to the spirit within her, I charge you in the name of Jesus Christ to come out of her! And it came out that very moment. Acts 16:18 (AMP)

So YOU can use Jesus’ name, too! For example you could say “It is written: that by Jesus stripes I am healed, the word of God says it so I believe it! I will not be moved (Psalm 62) by what I see or feel!”

When I was young I had a very bad dream. It was about relationships that were dear to me being consumed by something that I had no control over. I was afraid in my dream. I ran but I fell down running up a hill and the thing that had consumed all I loved had turned on me. I was only 8 or 9 when I had the dream but somewhere deep in me I believed in Jesus. I said in my dream “in the name of Jesus” and the dream disappeared and I had peace of mind again.

I have seen time and again the Word of God and the name of Jesus making the devil flee. We need to put the word of God in our hearts so that when trouble comes God can bring those things we mediated on to work. We must speak it out of our mouth and believe it with all our heart.  Read Speaking like a Spokesperson!

About Mandie

I am a Girl who loves working with colour, texture and light. And one of my favorite quotes is "If you think you're too small to make a difference you obviously have never been in bed with a mosquito" Michelle Walker

2 responses »

  1. […] How to Resist the devil. (thelbdessentialsforlife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] How to Resist the devil. (thelbdessentialsforlife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

