If you have ever watched The Bourne Identity film, a man finds himself aboard a ship with two bullet holes in him and doesn’t know who he is.  He goes about for the rest of the movie trying “to discover his true identity”(1).

I think as Christians we often are unsure of our identity. Who are we suppose to be in Christ? The Bible say we are imitators of Him.Identity (TV series)

THEREFORE BE imitators of God [copy Him and follow His example], as well beloved children [imitate their father]. Eph 5:1 AMP

…but imitators, behaving as do those who through faith ( by their leaning of the entire personality on God in Christ in absolute trust and confidence in His power, wisdom, and goodness) and by practice of patient endurance and waiting are [now] inheriting the promises. Heb 6:12 AMP

So what did Jesus do while living on this earth?

He depended on His Father.

So Jesus answered them by saying, I assure you, most solemnly I tell you, the Son is able to do nothing of Himself (of His own accord); but He is able to do only what He sees the Father doing, for whatever the Father does is what the Son does in the same way. John 5:19 AMP

The result was that Jesus spoke and did only what His Father told Him and He believed His Father loved Him and that He was His source.

Because I have not spoken on my own authority; but the Father who sent me, Himself gave me a command what to say and in what words to speak. 50 And I know that His command is the Life of the Ages. What therefore I speak, I speak just as the Father has bidden me. ” John 12:49WEY NT

He was  faithful to His Father.

Well done, good and faithful servant; you have been faithful over a few things, I will make you ruler over many things. Enter into the joy of your lord.’ Matthew 25:23 NKJV

As Christains we are all called to do something for God.  Jesus knew this and stayed true to his calling (if you do not know what your calling is ask and God will be faithful to direct you).  I do know we are all called to show Love, Joy, Peace, Confidence in our God, Power of God to do the impossible,  Mercy….. to all men that they might know the glory of our God and come to Him.

He was obedient to His Father.

Jesus was obedient to God’s plan and will for Him and He did it willfully without delay and without complaining.

“Father, if it is Your will, take this cup away from Me; nevertheless not My will, but Yours, be done.” Luke 22:42 NKJV

So you must live as God’s obedient children. 1 Peter 1:14 NLT

We have a choice or free will to be obedient.  It is a daily decision we must make.  I know that as we obey God he will show us what it really means to have joy in abundance.

He desired to please His Father.

Jesus was motivated to see the glory of God manifested in the lives of people.

And He who sent Me is with Me. The Father has not left Me alone, for I always do those things that please Him. John 8:29 NKJV

Therefore we make it our aim, whether present or absent, to be well pleasing to Him. 2 Corinthians 5:9 NKJV

We please Him with our faith, confidence and trust in Him.

But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. Hebrews 11:6 NKJV

He was empowered (given power or authority) by His Father.

Jesus was filled with the Holy Spirit’s power. Everyday He lived personally and in public ministry under the anointing and empowering of the Holy Spirit.

 Then Jesus, being filled with the Holy Spirit, returned from the Jordan and was led by the Spirit intothe wilderness… Luke 4:1 NLT

“The Spirit of the Lord is upon Me, for He has anointed Me to bring Good News to the poor. He has sent Me to proclaim that captives will be released, that the blind will see, that the oppressed will be set free.” Luke 4:14, 18 NLT

Jesus died on the cross and ascended to heaven so that it would be possible for us to live as He did while He was on this earth.  When you asked Jesus to come into your life the Holy Spirit came into you and you were born again.  It is by the presence of the Holy Spirit, His power and His fullness we can live as Jesus did.

I will put My Spirit within you and cause you to walk in My statutes, and you will keep My judgments and do them. Ezekiel 36:27 NKJV

Be filled with the Spirit. Ephesians 5:18 KJV

We need to imitate Jesus, which means spending time seeking or pursuing our Father. Because when we do that we then can be molded to be who we are in Christ, which is Love, Joy, Peace, Strong, Powerful, Mercy…..

… aim at and pursue righteousness (right standing with God and true goodness), godliness (which is the loving fear of God and being Christlike), faith, love, steadfastness (patience), fingerprint024and gentleness of heart. 1Tim 6:11 AMP

Listen to the song below and read the lyrics (I wrote the lyrics out because I was unable to find the lyric right on any other website.  I hope they are correct.) 🙂 God wants us to be this to the world so they might know Him.

I know I have said this before but I am gong to say it again. Get into the Word of God and find out what wonderful things He has for you.

Identity

Songwriters: WALLER, JOHN G.

You are love
So I am love
You are joy
And so I am, joy
You are peace
So I am peace
Lord everything you are
Now becomes me

The line between
Where you begin
And where I end Is gone, now I’m in… YOU

(Chorus)
I know who I am
You’re my true, born identity
I’m not the one I used to be
Cause now there is no separating
You…from who I am

You are strong
So I am strong
You are power
And so I am…powerful
You are mercy
So I am mercy
Lord everything You are
Now become me

The line between
Where you begin
And where I end Is gone, now I’m in… YOU

(Chorus)
I know who I am
You’re my true, born identity
And I’m not the one I used to be
Cause now there is no separating
You… Cause we’re in You….

Cause less is not us
Anything less is not us
Anything else is not who we are

Cause we’re in You..
We know who we are
And You’re my true born identity

And we’re not the ones we used to be
Cause now there is no separating
(You)…
And we’re not the ones we used to be
Cause now there is no separating You

Anything less is not us
Anything less is not us
Anything else is not who we are
no,no
Anything less is not us
Anything less is not us
Anything else is not who we are!

(1) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bourne_(film_series)
(2) http://www.meetmeinthemeadow.com/2013/01/living-like-jesus-in-2013/
http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/Faith?s=t
http://www.biblegateway.com
About Mandie

I am a Girl who loves working with colour, texture and light. And one of my favorite quotes is "If you think you're too small to make a difference you obviously have never been in bed with a mosquito" Michelle Walker

13 responses »

Comment navigation

  1. […] Born Identity (thelbdessentialsforlife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

  2. […] Born Identity We have a choice or free will to be obedient.  It is a daily decision we must make.  I know that as we obey God he will show us what it really means to have joy in abundance […]

    Like

Comment navigation

Leave a Reply

