I downloaded a computer game the other day about fashion. It is about shopping, which I like,  but it is also about defeating girls and flirting with men, buying people’s affections, getting boys and cheating, among many other things, that I do not like.   And that God does not like.  The more time I spent looking through this gaming world the more disgusted I became.

2 Corinthians 7:1 “With promises like this to pull us on, dear friends, let’s make a clean break with everything that defiles or distracts us, both within and without. Let’s make our entire lives fit and holy temples for the worship of God.” Message translation

Often after hanging out with friends I examine my thoughts and what we talked about so I can get right with God if I fell into the wrong thought patterns or if there was something I said that might have being damaging to someone (most of the time God asks me to get right with that person, too).  As I was doing this while driving home one night this song came to mind.

Change My Heart, Oh God

Written by Eddie Espinosa

Change my heart oh God,
Make it ever true.
Change my heart oh God,
May I be like You.

You are the potter,
I am the clay,
Mold me and make me,
This is what I pray.

How does one change their heart?

To change my heart I must change what I say.  I know I talked about this previously, but it is important to understand.

Matthew 12:34 “…. For out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks. “

As I soak up the word of God, so will my mouth speak but this also works the other way. If I do not take time for God and instead fill my time up completely with TV, Facebook, twittering, texting, talking on the phone (which I used to do for hours unless my parents chased me off.)… Did you know that in North American we watch between 4 – 7 hour a day and in an average year a young person will spend 900 hours in school and spend 1200 hour watching TV which 50 days in a 365 day year. Yikes!

If I do not get into the word of God the abundance of the heart changes to what the world thinks.

Galatians 6:8 “For he who sows to his own flesh (lower nature, sensuality) will from the flesh reap decay and ruin and destruction, but he who sows to the Spirit will from the Spirit reap eternal life.” AMP version

You start believing the world’s ideas on beauty, sex, honour, love… I found out the world’s ideas on many topics and it all meant never being satisfied with myself and that girls were my enemy. No peace but lots of worry, anxiety and stress. The Word of God speaks of peace.

Philpiains 4:6 Do not fret or have any anxiety about anything, but in every circumstance and in everything, by prayer and petition ( a definite requests), with thanksgiving, continue to make your wants known to God. 7And God’s peace [shall be yours, that a tranquil state of a soul assured of its salvation through Christ, and so fearing nothing from God and being content with its earthly lot of whatever sort that is, that peace] which transcends all understanding shall  garrison and mount guard over your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. 8 For the rest, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them]. 9 Practice what you have learned and received and heard and seen in me, and model your way of living on it, and the God of peace (of a untroubled, undisturbed well-being) will be with you.  AMP version

It’s too bad we often have to be hurt before we learn that what the world offers is pain and suffering.  If only we could learn early that God offers us peace, love, hope and a purpose!

This is a video of the testimony of a model and what she learned of the world…

http://www.statisticbrain.com/television-watching-statistics/
About Mandie

I am a Girl who loves working with colour, texture and light. And one of my favorite quotes is "If you think you're too small to make a difference you obviously have never been in bed with a mosquito" Michelle Walker

Leave a Reply

