FlowerModels are often asked to speak out on the behalf of organizations or charities as their Spokesperson.  They become the face and the voice that is associated with that item or organization and what they say and even do reflects on the company. Let’s talk about speaking like a Spokesperson. How is this done? In Mark 11:23 Jesus says “Truly I tell you, whoever says to this mountain, Be lifted up and thrown into the sea! and does not doubt at all in his heart but believes that what he says will take place, it will be done for him.

What we think (and then say) can snare our lives.

Proverbs 6:2 says “You are snared with the words of your lips, you are caught by the speech of your mouth.”

Have you ever thought something like “I want to be a…Fashion Designer” or “I want to …run my own business”, and then you get excited about the idea–all the things you could do and the places you could work.  But suddenly doubt starts poking its evil head into your thoughts:  you can’t do that!  Where would you find the money?  You’re not good enough!  Who would listen to you?

In my younger years I would get a new idea of what I wanted to do and maybe even consider going to school.  I would get excited, tell a whole bunch of people and then all of a sudden worry and fret would creep in.   I had doubts about whether I could do it.  I spent time dwelling on what I could not do instead of on what God could do in my life.

God’s word says in Matthew 15:18 “But whatever comes out of the mouth comes from the heart, and this is what makes a man unclean and defiles [him].”

 So the words that come out of my mouth affect me!

Things I used to say:  I can’t do that!  That’s too hard for me to do. I’m not smart enough. Nobody likes me. There’s something wrong with me. I wish I could look like somebody else!  Then maybe someone would like me.

My mouth was speaking what I believed about myself and so I never finished anything for many years . Words are very powerful–God created the universe with the words of his mouth. In Genesis 1: 3 it says that “God said let there be light and there was light.”  We can see then that God’s words are important. So why wouldn’t our words be important?

In Genesis 1:26it says that God created man in his own image, therefore as Christians we are imitators of God and our words are powerful as well.

 “(2Co 4:13) But having the same spirit of faith, according to that which is written, I believed, and therefore did I speak; we also believe, and therefore also we speak;” (This verse is Paul talking about what David said in the old testament.)

Next time you read one of the many stories in the Bible ask yourself what the characters spoke or said and what came about. Did what they say effect the outcome?  For example, read 1 Samuel 17.   There you will find that David, when choosing to go up against Goliath, did not put himself down or say negative things, but he encouraged himself by sharing how God had helped him to defeat the bear and the lion. Then when he came to confront Goliath he had the confidence to tell Goliath what he saw God doing through him that day; and it was accomplished.

The word of God says  “(Phil 4:13 MKJV) I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”

Now that you know that the words that come out of your mouth can effect your life what will you do about it? And what should we be doing as Christians?  Some of the things I’ve learned are

  1. Listen to God’s word. (Rom 10:17)  “So then faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the word of God.” I must speak the word of God for my ears to hear to build my faith. This is simply done by taking a verse or passage from the Bible and reading it over just loud enough so that you can hear it.  Further, you can get a podcast from the iTunes Store from Joyce Meyer, Terri Savelle Foy (for example) or a CD of  your pastor and listen to it once or twice during the week.
  2. Read the Bible.  Find out what God says about you in the Bible and how much He loves you.  This can build your self-confidence. Say these things aloud, as well, so your ears can hear them. This is what I would say:  I am a child of God.  I’m wonderfully made.  God had me in mind before the universe was created.  These are all paraphrases of verses of the Bible that talk about how much God loves us. Then when your mind starts thinking negative things you could tell yourself “No, I am a child of God! I am wonderfully made! God had me in mind before the universe was created!”
  3. Think of the Good! (Phil 4:8) “Finally, my brothers, whatever things are true, whatever things are honest, whatever things are right, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report; if there is any virtue and if there is any praise, think on these things.” So do your thoughts match up to this verse? Maybe we should stop thinking unpleasant thoughts and instead try to think about what is good. What positive things can come out of a bad situation? What can we learn from it? Is there something we can change about what we say and do?

Life will bring you up against Goliaths and big old Mountains, but if you believe in your heart and say with your mouth what the word of God says about your situation, then “all things are possible with God”(Matt 19:26)So let’s speak up as God’s Spokesperson!

Enjoy the video.

About Mandie

I am a Girl who loves working with colour, texture and light. And one of my favorite quotes is "If you think you're too small to make a difference you obviously have never been in bed with a mosquito" Michelle Walker

2 responses »

  1. […] I have seen time and again the Word of God and the name of Jesus making the devil flee. We need to put the word of God in our hearts so that when trouble comes God can bring those things we mediated on to work. We must speak it out of our mouth and believe it with all our heart.  Read Speaking like a Spokesperson! […]

    Like

  2. […] “Speaking like a Spokesperson!”  (thelbdessentialsforlife.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

