“One is never over-dressed or underdressed with a Little Black Dress.”  –Karl Lagerfeld

What is it about the Little Black Dress that seems so timeless, so inspiring, so necessary to our closets?  Perhaps it’s simplicity.  Perhaps it has to do with the elegance of the colour.  Perhaps that it goes with everything.  That it will fit into any colour scheme, any event, any social setting.

Regardless of the reason why, we are regaled by the fashion world with the necessity of having one in our closet.  What I like about the Little Black Dress is that I can dress it up differently each time I go out in it.  It’s like having ten different dresses!  You can tailor it to make it appropriate for all occasions (even some really unusual weddings!).   It is a great back up or default dress if you have NOTHING else to wear.  This may be why it is an essential closet staple.

Are there other things in life that are essentials?  That are ‘closet staples’?

Some people may say a good education.  Others may say a creative mind.  Still others may say a compassionate heart.  Even things like resilience, fortitude, kindness, generosity are all good things to have in your closet, ready and waiting for when you may need them.  Some today might suggest the most important would be independence.

It’s funny–after spending years as a child struggling with our families, our friends and ourselves for our independence, when we finally get it, when we finally have the reins in our hands, the ability to make our own decisions, we may not know quite what to do with ourselves.  We can find ourselves drifting…

When I was 18 and found myself in the Big City away from family, from friends, from neighbours, I found myself in a curious position.  I had the opportunity to recreate myself.  Nobody knew me.  No one would know the difference.

But who was I?  I felt like I was drifting.  I felt I had nothing to hold on to, I didn’t know what direction to turn.  I thrust off those years of being the geek, the quiet girl, the nerd.  I began to talk (some might wish that I hadn’t…).  I began to change how I looked at things in the world around me.  The moment came when I had to decide if my beliefs that I had grown up with, the faith of my family, were going to be my beliefs, my faith.  Would they survive the cut?  Would they become essentials in my closet of tools for life?

All of us come to this point:  is there a God?  If so, does He matter to me?  How does He fit in my life and this world today?  Does He belong in my closet next to my Little Black Dress?

Plumb
Drifting

There’s a sea of lonely,
Swimming sad,
Looking just for An arm to grab.
I don’t need to Understand.
I’m just lending you The two that I have.
You might be drifting
And can’t find the shore,
So Hopeless
And all alone.
The waves are crashing
All around you.
Just when you’ve lost the will to live
You see the SonCan we make a searchlight
From all the bridges that we burn?
Do you see a rescue Or a deeper kind of hurt?
Who could love you?
Who could hold you?
I’d swim across the sea.
You don’t have to be alone
Where the shallow gets so deep

You might be drifting
And can’t find the shore,
So Hopeless
And all alone.
The waves are crashing
All around you.
Just when you’ve lost the will to live
You see the Son

I have taken the liberty of changing the word from ‘sun’ to ‘Son’ in the lyrics, because I think this is key to the song.  Does God (and, therefore,  His Son) matter to you?  Absolutely!  Even if you don’t know it He is always near by.  When you feel like you have nothing else, He is there.  If you have no other tools in your closet He will always be there.  Even if you don’t feel that He is relevant or useful or important or a part of your life, He is stiill there ready to help.  Like the Little Black Dress He will fit into any scheme, event or social setting.  This is because He loves you, even if you don’t love Him back.  He will always love you…and will wait for you…

The rest of the story:  What I finally realized is that I did have something to hold on to and that I didn’t need to be drifting.  Sometimes when we are drifting we don’t see the hand reaching out to help us.  God was waiting for me.  He made me with a purpose in mind and was waiting to help me find it.  There are few things in life more reasuring or motivating than knowing that you have a purpose!

The Creator of the Universe–not a bad item to have in my closet of tools for life…

“The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure that she carries, or the way she combs her hair. The beauty of a woman is seen in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart, the place where love resides. True beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul. It’s the caring that she lovingly gives, the passion that she shows…”

— Audrey Hepburn

About Mary

You may call me unusual. Strange. "Interesting." Crazy. But I like to think of myself as having all of the eccentricities of genius without the burden of the genius!

Leave a Reply

